5 New Year’s Resolutions for a University Student

I’m not going to lie; no successful relationship started with a lie. (That, in itself, might be a lie, but I’m not going to check to confirm.) I’m already not looking forward to starting this blog. That’s probably a bad start, but I just really hate commitments, and it feels like I’m almost writing this for no reason because I can see myself not committing. Well, here’s to proving myself wrong!

I’m starting this blog because I have no order in my life. I’ve never really had any order in my life, but as I’m reaching my mid-20s, I feel that it’s time that I start. Not that the mid-20s are special, I just didn’t know how else to introduce that sentence. I don’t know how to introduce this next step, either, so here it is:

1. Write in this blog at least once a week. As a part of getting my life in order, I think that if I wrote in this blog as consistently as possible, then everything else will sort of fall into place.

2. Lower my carbohydrate intake. I’m not going to commit to a full-on low-carb diet, because that would be fooling myself. These things are supposed to be lifestyle changes, right? Either way, I’ve just ordered a Crock-Pot and I’m planning on doing all of my grocery shopping at the beginning of each month and freezing separate meals to later throw into the slow cooker. Excuses are my friend, and I like to blame them a lot when I fall behind in coursework, so preparing dinner will no longer be one of my excuses! (Nor will not having snacks, breakfast, or anything else that falls in the food category.)

3. Go to the gym. Although it was my initial inclination, I’m not going to pretend that I’m going to go to the gym every day, because shit always comes up. (Are you allowed to swear in blogs?) As a result of this, I’m going to say that I have to go to the gym at least half the week. I don’t know what this means, but I guess I’ll be happy with 3 or 4 days of a week with 1-1.5 hours dedicated to working out.

4. Keep the house generally tidy. We (my boyfriend and I) don’t live like monsters or anything, but for some reason whenever we do the laundry–even if we’ve folded it–we never put it away. And since we don’t have that much surface area, this means that the clean laundry is quickly mixed with the dirty laundry, and I end up washing clean laundry. It’s really terrible. And, coincidentally, is the result of our house looking messy!

5. Drink more water. I love water. Especially when I’ve had too much to drink or haven’t had water in days, then I kick myself for not kissing water’s feet. Either way, I rarely drink water. It’s unfortunate, but it’s generally because I drink way too much coffee, and since I’m almost always drinking coffee I forget to drink other things. Whoops.

Those are my five. I know I’m only supposed to have one, but my ultimate one is to finally be around a size 0 or max 2. I’ve always been a small/x-small, but I’ve never managed to reach the petite-ness of girls my height (5’3″). It didn’t help that Freshman 15 was actually Freshman 40 in my case, and at one point I even thought that I’d be happy if I continued to weigh less than my mom or boyfriend. It was really awful. Fortunately, I have lost a ton of the weight since first year in university, and for heading towards my “dream weight” I think a full year is more than enough time (especially with this awesome plans I’ve set for myself)! Anyway, here’s to hoping, and happy new year to you all!

Image

First recipe of the new year (and this post, obviously). Okay, these are *not* low-carb (I think), but in my defense I made them before Christmas.

Candy Cane Bark
1 package white chocolate chips (or 0.5 lbs from the bulk section)
1 package dark chocolate chips (or 0.5 lbs from the bulk section)
2 tsp peppermint extract
6-8 candy canes, crushed (you can use more, if you want)

1. Melt dark chocolate in a saucepan on low. Make sure to stir so that the chocolate doesn’t burn. After it’s fully melted, add the peppermint extract.
2. Pour melted chocolate on a wax paper. (I put my wax paper on a cookie sheet.) Make sure to spread it out so that it’s fairly thin.
3. Sprinkle 2/3 of the crushed candy canes on the dark chocolate while it’s still warm and liquid.
4. Melt the white chocolate in a separate saucepan (or just wash the one you just used). Wait for the dark chocolate to cool down, and then pour the white chocolate over the dark chocolate/candy cane and spread like before.
5. Sprinkle the remainder of the candy canes on the white chocolate while it’s still warm.
6. Refrigerate for around 20 minutes, then store in tin cans in the fridge.

Thanks for reading (or skimming).
XO,
Rebecca

 
Leave a Reply

