Indulging in High Carb Faves While on a Low Carb Diet: Maple Glazed Mini Cinnamon Rolls

I’ve been promising Dan cinnamon rolls for over a week now, and since he just ran all over town to buy us a Wii and games and alcohol (and missing groceries), I felt that I owed it to him to finally pull through an make these bad boys.

Since the whole point of this New Year’s Resolution is to save time, I obviously had to cheat and consult Pillsbury on my quest.

Image

Pillsbury’s Grands! Crescents

I didn’t really take the advice on the back of the tube. I went on to roll it like I would any dough. Then I mixed the butter, “sugar”, and cinnamon for the filling. (The real test for whether or not these are awesome will arrive home in 20 minutes. Let’s see if he can tell the difference!)

Image

The liquid sweetener!

My friend’s mom was sweet enough to give me this when we went over last night. I usually hate artificial sweeteners due to their chemical-like flavors, but I taste-tested this prior to blending it in and it was actually pretty good!

ImageIt looks about right!

Image

They look so innocent.

I decided to go with making mini cinnamon rolls. Can’t really make them low carb without buying all the crazy ingredients. I wouldn’t even know where to start looking for them! Portion control is just as effective, anyway.

The non-low carb ingredients came in when I was making the glaze, so if you want to make another glaze then go for it!

Image

Oh yes.

The final product.

Image

So beautiful.

I’ve just gotta add that Dan just arrived, and he is all over this. He did say that it tastes different, but he thinks that that’s because we’re using Maple glaze instead of our usually Vanilla. Either way, they are awesome.

Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Maple Glaze
Makes 22 baby cinnamon rolls.

For the dough:
– 1 Pillsbury Crescent roll (we used “Grands!”)

For the filling:
– 0.5 tbsp ground cinnamon
– 1.5-2 tbsp butter
– 5 drops liquid sweetener (or to taste)

For the glaze:
– 2 tsp Maple syrup
– 1 tbsp milk (I used vanilla almond milk)
– 1/4 c powdered sugar
Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit

1. Roll out the dough like you normally would.
2. Soften your butter for a couple seconds in the microwave, then mix with the sweetener and the cinnamon. Spread evenly over dough.
3. Roll dough into a tub and cut into ~22 evenly-sized buns.
4. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes (check on it frequently during this time)
5. While it’s baking, mix together the glaze ingredients, add or lessen whatever you want; it’s supposed to taste good to you.
6. Drizzle over buns!

Image

And it only took me 20 minutes! It’s not the healthiest, but it’s healthy in comparison to other cinnamon rolls! Plus, it’s a pretty good two-bite size to have with your coffee. On a sadder note, I don’t think they’ll last the week because Dan’s going nuts for them, haha. At least I still have my dark chocolate!

XO,
Rebecca

5 thoughts on “Indulging in High Carb Faves While on a Low Carb Diet: Maple Glazed Mini Cinnamon Rolls

    • Thank you! Yeah, I figured I may as well go this route because when it’s time for me to make things like lemon meringue pie, I wouldn’t even know where to start for making it low carb (other than removing the crust and sweetening the custard/meringue with sugar). Dark chocolate definitely kept me sane, I don’t think I would still be on this diet without it!

      • What about using almond or coconut flour for the crust of the lemon meringue pie? That way you don’t have to omit it all together. And I think that any diet that doesn’t allow dark chocolate isn’t worth trying at all! :]

      • That’s a great idea! I’ll have to get my hands on some almond flour; I’ve never had any. If it has at least a tiny hint of almond-flavoring to it then it should be amazing with the lemon, anyway! Haha that is too true. If anything, diets should encourage dark chocolate: they’re high in iron, have proteins, and actually keep you full after one or two squares. Perfect!

      • Bob’s Red Mill sells almond flour, although you can also make your own by grinding up almonds in a food processor. I’m sure it’ll pack plenty of almond flavor because it’s made directly from the nuts! I’ve also heard that dark chocolate is good for blood flow and circulation, so I’ll use whatever excuses I can to eat another bite.

Leave a Reply

