Low Carb Breakfast On the Go: Breakfast Quiche

Image

Low Carb Breakfast Quiche

I did a lot of searching when it came to what I could do for a low carb breakfast. See, I’m extremely lazy when it comes to making breakfast. Even if I have the day off, I will do anything and everything possible to get out of preparing breakfast, from suggesting that we eat out to sleeping in until it’s lunch time to telling Dan that if he wants to eat then he’s going to have to be a sweetheart. Most of the time, he’ll just suck it up and do something about the dire hunger situation. Other times, we’ll both just want to be lazy and it’ll end up with this big old dent in our wallets. (The latte effect, you know? All those coffees out add up!)

Anyway, I basically came up with a brilliant solution, and it obviously has to do with the whole once a month cooking thing we’ve taken upon ourselves to do! Firstly, let me just say that I had my weigh-in on Sunday and I had lost a whopping 0.2 lbs. I’m not too upset, although I’ve got to say that it definitely isn’t as exhilarating as knowing that you’ve lost 4+ pounds in a week. On the other hand, I haven’t really started going to the gym yet and we’ve been pretty bad in terms of food lately, too, so I’m glad that I haven’t gained weight! (By bad I mean I’ve been around 100 carbs a day rather than the 50 I was aiming for. It really doesn’t help that I love wine and wine loves carbs.)

My New Low Carb Go-To Breakfast When On the Go

I spent a good couple of days searching for what I’m supposed to eat for breakfast while on this low carb diet. No cereal? No toast? No muffins!? I used to always make muffins for breakfast; I’d make a batch of muffins low in fat and calories at the beginning of the week and then we’d have them with our coffee every morning. It was perfect! Unfortunately, no regular flour so unless I want to spent $12 for a small bag of almond meal, muffins are out of the question for our morning low carb meals.

Fortunately, while on this hunt for a low carb recipe for breakfast and after I’d gotten through all of the eggs and bacon posts, I discovered baked eggs and bacon! Okay, it’s not exactly like that. (Well, it is exactly like that, but there’s more to it!) And here’s the awesome discovery I’ve made: Quiches have low carbs! I wanted to make egg cups initially, but we simply didn’t have enough bacon, so I had to settle for a breakfast quiche. Oh man, it was divine. It is divine. We’ve been enjoying it all week, and it’s still good to go.

So, this particular low carb food can basically be made at the beginning of the week. (That’s what we did.) Looking back now, I should have had an extra pan and split the recipe among the two pans to double the mini quiches. On the other hand, the one single quiche fills us both right up! Honestly, after I have one I’m full for hours until it’s snack time. Anyway, here’s this awesomely easy low carb recipe for you. It can be tinkered with however way you like, for the record; like most of my recipes, it’s very versatile. Feel free to play around with it and add or remove things you like! And. naturally, you’re able to freeze it (after baking)! It freezes and reheats quite nicely.

Image

Sorry about my oil-stained pan!

Low Carb Breakfast Quiche Recipe

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 8 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon basil
  • A few slices Swiss cheese, shredded (I used 4 pre-sliced Swiss cheese squares)
  • 2 slices bacon, cooked until crispy and chopped (I cut mine with scissors)
  • 3 breakfast sausages, crumbled and cooked (I cut the skin on mine and squeezed them out and fried them with the bacon)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a mini muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray.

1. In a small pan, heat the butter over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and cook for about five minutes.
2. In a  bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, salt, pepper, and basil.
3. Place a pinch of the cheese, onions, and meat mixture in the bottom of each muffin tin. Then pour the egg mixture into each tin. Top with Swiss cheese.

Bake for 15 minutes and enjoy them all goddamn week! Enjoy your stress-free mornings! It took me a total of 25 minutes to have breakfast for a week.

quiche

XO,
Rebecca

P.S. Have any of you done P90X and would you recommend it? I’m strongly considering starting it in a couple of months, but I just don’t know yet! I’m planning on learning to run 10 km before the end of this year, so maybe training for that will give the same effects? I don’t know.

5 thoughts on “Low Carb Breakfast On the Go: Breakfast Quiche

    • Thank you! It’s *so* versatile too; you could literally toss anything you want in there. I might try ham and cheddar or bacon, onion, and jalapenos next time. Do let me know how it goes for you! We didn’t end up freezing ours, but it ended up being good for about 5-6 days. (:

  1. Looks good, I made it and it was delicious. Now I have breakfast for the rest of the week. Thanks for your research. Just loved it.

  2. This is absolutely perfect! Exactly what i was looking for! You nailed it! Thanks keep posting great stuff! Best wishes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

