Back from the Dead (and I brought White Chocolate Chip Raisin Oatmeal Cookies!)

It’s been a long time, and I’m ashamed of my absence. I’ll admit that I fell off the ‘wagon’ for the low carb lifestyle. I definitely, definitely implement a lot of lower carb changes into my life now with sides and snacking, but I don’t follow it so rigorously anymore. I think the commitment to that and having to write every week just turned me off. (Plus, how could I say no to sushi?)

I still haven’t made that trip to the gym (again, shame on me). I think a big problem is that I was rewarding myself with Gossip Girl episodes–basically I’d watch an episode at the gym and that was supposed to be my motivation for going. Well, this failed for three reasons: Firstly, I’ve only just started watching season 5, and season 5 of GG is PAINFULLY slow in the beginning. Seriously. I just keep thinking, “WHO CARES?!” while watching episodes and not even wanting to finish them. Secondly, watching Gossip Girl means I cannot listen to music as I’m too lazy to figure out how to add subtitles to my tablet. And lastly, because I don’t want the show to end and I know that season 6 is the last season. (I swear if someone comments on here and spoils the ending…)

So, I’m left with not going to the gym. This week I actually had mega motivation to go several times–of course, this would also be the week I’d have “that time of the month” AND the stomach flu. I’m probably just trying to comfort myself into thinking I would have gone had I not been ill.

Anyway, now that I’m finally able to stomach foods, obviously the very first thing I had to do was bake cookies. I volunteered at a conference last weekend and they had these amazing white chocolate chip raisin oatmeal cookies, so here’s my attempt at replicating them (and might I say I did a damn fine job).

Image

See the blurs in the back? Yes, those are more cookies.

White Chocolate Chip Raisin Oatmeal Cookies

  • 2/3 cup margarine, softened
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup packed dark brown sugar

  • 2 eggs

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins (soaked in hot water for 10 minutes to fatten them up)
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

1. Mix your margarine, oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in a bowl until “light and fluffy”. (Honestly, just mix it. Mine was definitely not light OR fluffy. In fact, it had clumps of margarine in it. Don’t be afraid of condensed fat globs.)

2. Stir in your baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ground cloves. (I know most bakers say that you’re supposed to mix the dry ingredients separately. I say it doesn’t make ANY difference. They’re probably laughing at you for making more dishes dirty. It’ll all be blended together in the end anyway.)

3. Stir in your flour until you see no more white in the dough.

4. Add rolled oats, raisins, and white chocolate chips and stir until well-blended.

5. Plop rounded spoonfuls onto non-greased wax paper (or cookie sheet if you have four cookie sheets or a lot of patience).

Bake 9-10 minutes.

Makes 4 dozen delicious, moist cookies.

Image

Nutrition facts is per cookie. Not too shabby! (If the sugar freaks you out, take another look at these badboys.)

Image

They’re worth every naughty gram of sugar.

In case you didn’t read my baking instructions (I usually skim through those of others, so I’m not offended), here are my baking tips condensed:
1. You don’t need to blend your sugar and eggs until they’re light and fluffy. It will only make a marginal difference, if any at all. My cookies are extremely moist, thank you.
2. You don’t need to mix your dry ingredients separately. Just mix those that are of smaller quantities (e.g. a tsp, a tbsp, or 1/4 cup) in with the wet ingredients first before you add the larger amounts of dry ingredients (usually flour). This will ensure that your ingredients are even *better* blended than the alternative.

Time to get fat off some cookies and study for my calculus midterm. Have a beautiful weekend!

Leave a Reply

