The PERFECT Low Carb Easter Pumpkin Pie Replacement! INDUCTION FRIENDLY!

I’ve officially decided that I’m going to seriously start the Atkins diet. I’m currently on day 1 of induction after spending a good chunk of time yesterday buying low carb staples from the “approved list”. Basically, the way induction works is that you only eat foods from that approved list for at least two weeks. There are no limits to calories consumed, but your total net carbs (Carbohydrates – Fiber) cannot exceed 20 carbs per day during these two weeks. I’m using My Fitness Pal to track my foods, and so far it’s going good (although I’ve only been awake for five or so hours haha).

I started off the day with turkey egg cups. (I really should’ve taken a picture, they were delish!) Hopefully next time I bake them I’ll remember, and I’ll put up the recipe and pictures. That’s all I’ve eaten so far because I’m literally still full from it–all that protein can be really filling!

However, by some weird force of habit that I’ve developed over these past few weeks, I need to have something sweet. Obviously, this sugar isn’t allowed, but that doesn’t mean I can’t indulge! I slightly modified this pumpkin recipe on Linda Sue’s website to make mini pumpkin cheesecakey pies! They’re still baking while I’m typing this, but I tasted the batter and OMG they are so delicious. I couldn’t believe my tastebuds.

Image

As for exercise, I’ve still been really bad with the gym. I did get some home workout DVDs though (Jillian’s Six Week Six Pack, Jillian’s Ripped in 30, and Get Ripped with Jari Love). Of the DVDs I’ve tried, I got bored with both of Jillian’s videos, but she did have some good moves in there so I would just do those (I think it adds to twenty minutes total from her two vids). Jari Love, however, I LOVE. I just really love the fact that she isn’t trying hard and acting with the videos, which was my main problem with Jillian’s. Plus her moves are all easy on the back (which I’ve had semi-problems with)–there were only a few I couldn’t do but that was only because I don’t have a bench, but she still works you out hard!

Anyway, as for the true  reason for this post. My scrumptious and heavenly mini pumpkin “pies”! (Just in time for Easter, too!)

Low Carb Pumpkin Cheesepie
Image

Ingredients:
1 cup cream cheese
5 large eggs
2 tsp liquid Stevia (or 1 cup Splenda or, if you’re not a low carber, 1 cup sugar)
2 cups 100% pure pumpkin
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/5 tsp ground ginger
1/5 tsp ground cloves
1/5 tsp ground nutmeg
1/5 tsp allspice
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:
1. Whip cream cheese with a hand mixer (30-45 seconds)
2. Whip eggs along with cream cheese
3. Add pumpkin after the eggs are properly mixed in
4. Add the spices, the liquid stevia, and the vanilla
5. Spray your mini muffin tins with nonstick spray and distribute batter evenly (I had too much batter and not enough muffin tins, so my extra two ‘pies’ were baked in ramekins).

Bake mini muffins in oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes (if you made pies in ramekins, too, then bake for 28-30 minutes).
Makes 14 mini pies

Image

Only 2.5 net carbs for each of those badboys! (and less than 100 calories)

One thought on “The PERFECT Low Carb Easter Pumpkin Pie Replacement! INDUCTION FRIENDLY!

Leave a Reply

